DIY – Make your own nut milk bag for dummies + Hazelnut and cacao nut milk

I first tried nut milk when I was volunteering at Realfoods RMIT in 2011. I’ve always been fascinated by it but never got around to making my own. Recently I’ve been looking at getting a nut milk bag so I could make my own at home however being an unemployed student I couldn’t justify the prices.

I decided to make my own and let me be clear here, this is a super basic bag. The last time I used a sewing machine was 10 years ago so I have no real skill. I hand stitched my bag however if you are more talented than I, you could definitely use a sewing machine which would be considerably quicker.

I bought a strip of Swiss Voile in white and some white shoe lace style trim from my local Spotlight. I was unsure how to keep the pieces together while I stitched each side. Putting in pins seemed redundant to me as the mesh was so fine and the pins would put in unnecessary holes so I sticky taped the sides. I know, I know it sounds silly but it worked!

Start by stitching one side, leaving an inch at the top un-stitched. Stitch the bottom and then stitch the remaining side, doing the same as before. Now this part was tricky when hand stitching. I couldn’t do the sticky tape trick to keep the fabric from moving so I got my mum to hold the fabric tight while I stitched. If you don’t have anyone to help, you can use pins as that far up the holes won’t matter so much. Fold the fabric over to create a seam and stitch. Do the same on the other side. Thread through the shoe lace and tie the ends and you’re ready to use your nut milk bag!

I realize that didn’t really make much sense, feel free to comment if you need any more clarification!

11650968_10150547007499978_1310156819_n

Hazelnut and cacao nut milk

This recipe is adapted from http://tasty-yummies.com/2014/04/08/how-to-make-nut-milk/

Ingredients
1 cup raw unsalted hazelnuts
4 cups of water (see notes)
2 tbs cacao powder
A pinch of salt
Maple syrup to taste

Method

Soak hazelnuts for approximately 8 hours

13701634563_457dec5e49_z

Discard the soaking water and rinse the hazelnuts in fresh water

Place the hazelnuts, maple syrup, cacao powder, salt and 4 cups of water in a blender. Blend on high for up to 5 minutes. It will be creamy and foamy.

Strain milk through a nut bag. DO NOT discard the hazelnut pulp. There are many uses for it! I will be posting a recipe soon.

11348926_10150547007529978_244751925_n

Makes approximately 800mls

*Note – I used 4 cups of water but I found my nut milk to be a tad too watery for my taste. I feel like 3 1/2 cups would be perfect.

11637992_10150547007519978_1580140373_n

2 thoughts on “DIY – Make your own nut milk bag for dummies + Hazelnut and cacao nut milk

Leave a Reply

